



Key Vocabulary	
The United Kingdom	The United Kingdom (UK) is made up of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Capital City	The capital city is the area where the gov- ernment is based.
London	London is the capital city of the UK and of England too.
Edinburgh	The capital city of Scotland.
Cardiff	The capital city of Wales.
Belfast	The capital city of Northern Ireland.
Island	A piece of land surrounded by water.
Sea	A large body of salty water (that is smaller than an ocean).
Surrounding Seas & Oceans	The bodies of water that surround an island or islands. The surrounding seas for the UK are the English Channel, the Atlantic Ocean, the Irish Sea, and the North Sea.











Locational & Place Knowledge Skills

By the end of this topic. I will be able to locate and identity the four countries of the United Kingdom and its surrounding seas. I will also have some knowledge of the characteristics of these capital cities: London, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast.

Human and Physical Feature Knowledge Skills

will also be able to identify seasonal and daily weather patterns in the United Kingdom.

Map, Compass, Gridwork & Fieldwork Skills

I will develop skills to use world maps, atlases and globes to identify the United Kingdom and its countries, as well as the surrounding seas.

